h1

H2O(MG This is Gonna Suck!)

May 31, 2009

water

So it’s no secret that I don’t exactly eat all that healthy… my diet consists mainly of fast food, microwavable already prepared meals, and home made lunch meat sandwiches.  I was watching Super Size Me the other day for like the 10th time while eating White Castle and it started to dawn on me that maybe I should start trying to be a bit more healthy.  I mean this wasn’t the first time I’ve done this, every time I watch that movie I get that notion and never really follow through.  For one… I love fast food.  It’s fast, it’s tasty, I don’t ever really put on any weight, and my doctor said my body is naturally proficient at expelling cholesterol.  At my last physical, he had no clue how bad I eat by looking at my blood work and such.  Anyway… I’m off on a tangent here.

So one of the recurring themes in Super Size Me… fast food is bad for you aside… is that the drinks that come with them seem to be a major part of the impact on your body.  Awhile back I decided I was going to cut all the caffeine out of my diet and I did good for a few months, I felt better, had a bit more energy, and it really wasn’t all that bad.  I replaced Mt. Dew and Coke with Root Beer and Fruit Punch, but yeah, while I wasn’t getting the caffeine, I was still bringing in all that sugar.

Here is my plan… starting tomorrow (Monday, June 1st), I’m going to go 1 week only drinking water.  No juice, no Vitamin Water, certainly no soda’s, nothing but good ol’ H2O.  It’s a simple enough thing to do that I don’t think will impact me too much.  Any of the stores I go to I’d have to make a trip to the back of the store to really be tempted by them, and I have no other reason to go back there otherwise.  If after  a week I can see a noticeable improvement in my day to day well being, I’ll see if I can keep this going.  My biggest enemy is going to be Power-C Vitamin Water and Mt. Dew High Voltage.  I usually chug down 2 Vitamin Waters first thing in the morning to get my day going, and that blue Mt. Dew is just so damn tasty!  Blue Mt. Dew was my downfall with the no caffeine experiment, and I’m off the wagon big time… til tomorrow.

I’m in no way planning on drastically changing my diet or the foods that I eat by doing this.  I still love you Wendy, KFC you will always lure me in with that delicious mashed potato bowl, Burger King… you, me, and the triple stacker are still an item, and bacon… you are my one true love.  So let’s see what happens.  Perhaps this will be a precursor to me quitting smoking again.  That’s already been weighing heavily on my mind.

Bottoms up!

One comment

  1. Good luck! I also recently just stopped drinking soda. It was actually quite random. xD

    Any ways, good luck man!



Leave a Reply

