h1

Strange Days

November 5, 2008

cats-dogs-together-760114

So here we are… it feels like a whole different world to me.  I’ve never been one for voting, and save your breath for all your voting propaganda, you’re just wasting it.  But I actually got a bit caught up in all the commotion last night, which is a big step for me.  Seeing Obama get elected, by such a slaughtering margin, kinda makes me think the system may not be as bad as it seems.  Don’t get me wrong, I still despise politics, but after seeing Obama in action last night, I think this guy actually has some good intentions and can likely do some good.

Every year when voting comes up, I always have in my head what I would vote for, but I never have a good reason.  Why?  Because I don’t pay any attention to that stuff.  And I’m not going to make a decision like that without being properly informed.  If I would have voted, it would’ve been for Obama, simply for the fact that he is African American.  I’d do it to see some change in this country, which is funny because that was part of his platform.  I just figured that with a couple hundred years of out of touch crusty old white guys running the show, maybe it’s time for something different.

Watching last night, I can see why this guy is an inspiration to millions.  Yeah, I got chills watching that speech, I’m getting them now thinking about it.  The first time I got the feeling this guy might be different is when I saw this pic over at Coop’s site http://www.madthoughts.net .

Obama 2008

So what do I think now?  I don’t regret my stance for however long I’ve had it.  I don’t even know that it’s changed.  But yeah, I think this guy is onto something.  Things are different, things have changed, and let’s hope this guy keeps those promises.  In a world where Dubya has everyone else hating us, I think this guy can make them like us again.  So maybe next time… maybe then I’ll see what a voters booth looks like.  Just maybe…

PS.  It’s been 62.5 hours since I’ve had a cigarette!

One comment

  1. Yes. We. Can.



Leave a Reply

