h1

2 Hours in Another World

June 12, 2008

I’ve been talking about getting a bike for some time now.  I borrowed one from my buddy Nick, the one up there.  I’ve only got this for a couple weeks but I totally need to get one of these.  Gonna have to check out CL this weekend.

I just got back from a 2 hour ride around Brooklyn.  I forgot to bring my Blackberry with me so I’m not totally sure all the ground that I covered, but I rode out past Atlantic Terminal, then back over to the Navy Yard and by Admiral’s Row.  I was going to keep on going but the light began to dwindle and I got a shocking reminder that I’m dressed in all black with no reflectors on this thing when I saw a guy with a neon yellow vest and about 20 flashing LED’s ride past me.

Note… get reflectors when I get a bike of my own.

It’s kinda like being in a different world riding around on a bike.  You pay so much more attention to what is going on around you.  You also come to realize that most people really don’t pay attention to what’s going on around them.  Several times I almost got hit by someone turning, or opening their car door, or stepping off the curb, or walking out between cars.  Sadly I won’t get to go riding again until Saturday.  Until then bike… until then

Leave a Reply

